There might come a time when you may need to know how to block someone on LinkedIn without them knowing.

This can happen when:

Let us explore how to block someone on LinkedIn.

Can You Block People On LinkedIn?

Yes, you can block someone on LinkedIn.

Be warned, however, that when you block someone, while they will lose access to your profile, you will also lose access to their profile.

Additionally, if you have any connections with the person you are blocking, share any accounts, or if the person is on your mailing list, these could remove all ties.

You will also not be able to message this person.

How To Block Someone On LinkedIn: Step-By-Step

Here are the steps to blocking someone on LinkedIn:

  1. Log in to LinkedIn.
  2. Go to the person’s profile who you’d like to block.
  3. Find the member’s profile picture. Below the profile picture, you should see a “more button. Click this.
  4. A drop-down list will appear. Click “Report/Block.”
  5. Once you see the “What do you want to do?” menu, click “block (member name).”
  6. From here, click “block.”
  7. If you have reconsidered, you can click “go back.”

 

a woman saying no with her hand raised representing how to block someone on linkedin
How to block someone on LinkedIn can be tricky but worth your privacy

How To Block Someone On LinkedIn Without Visiting Their Profile?

Unfortunately, it’s not possible to block a user on LinkedIn without visiting their profile.

If I Block Someone On LinkedIn, Will They See I Viewed Their Profile?

However, there is a way to block a member without knowing you were on their profile.

You can change your profile settings on LinkedIn to a private viewing mode.

This will stop someone from knowing it was you on their LinkedIn profile when you need to block someone.

Here are the steps for switching to private mode on LinkedIn:

  1. Log in to LinkedIn.
  2. From the top bar, click “Me.”
  3. Select “Setting & Privacy from the drop-down menu”
  4. From the left-hand menu, select “Visibility.”
  5. Choose the first option, “Profile viewing options.”
  6. Next, click “Private mode.”
  7. Lastly, click “close” at the top of the page.

Can A Person Tell If You Blocked Them On LinkedIn?

In most cases, the person you blocked on LinkedIn will not know.

However, there are some exceptions to this.

  1. When you block someone, and they attempt to go to your profile, and they can’t, they might easily assume that you blocked them.
  2. If they try to message you, a similar event might happen.
  3. For those whom you share a recruiter account with, LinkedIn can notify them that you have blocked them.

If you want to block a member from a group you are a part of and also want to remove them from your group, they will likely know when they no longer have access to your group.

How To Block Someone On LinkedIn Without Them Knowing?

When you block someone on LinkedIn, they will not get a notification telling them you blocked them unless you have a shared account.

Still, other members can see who viewed their profile, so if they see you were on their profile and then see that they can’t see your profile anymore, they’ll conclude that you blocked them.

Use the following steps to set your account to private mode to get around this.

This way, they won’t see you were on their profile.

Here are the steps for switching to private mode on LinkedIn:

  1. Log in to LinkedIn.
  2. From the top bar, click “Me.”
  3. From your drop-down menu, select “Setting & Privacy.”
  4. On the left-hand menu, select “Visibility.”
  5. Choose the first option, “Profile viewing options.”
  6. Next, click “Private mode.”
  7. Lastly, click “close” at the top of the page.

When You Block Someone On LinkedIn, What Can They See?

When you block someone on LinkedIn, your profile will no longer appear to them.

This includes LinkedIn suggestions. It will appear to the person you blocked as though you’re not even on LinkedIn.

How Do I Block A Specific Person On LinkedIn?

Here are the steps to blocking someone on LinkedIn:

  1. Log in to LinkedIn.
  2. Go to the person’s profile who you’d like to block.
  3. Find the member’s profile picture.
  4. Below the profile picture, you should see a “more button. Click this.
  5. A drop-down list will appear. Click “Report/Block.”
  6. Once you see the “What do you want to do?” menu, click “block (member name).”
  7. From here, click “block.” If you have reconsidered, you can click “go back.”

How To Know If Someone Blocked You On LinkedIn?

Unless you have a shared account, you can’t see that you were blocked on LinkedIn.

However, there are hints that you can look for, which can suggest someone has blocked you.

If you can no longer find someone on LinkedIn, and you know they used to be on LinkedIn, go where LinkedIn shows you who has recently viewed your profile.

The procedure to do this can be found below, but they likely blocked you if someone viewed your profile AND no longer appeared for you.

  1. From your LinkedIn homepage, navigate to the left-hand menu.
  2. Under your profile picture, find the option “who viewed your profile.”
  3. Click this to see who has viewed your profile.


Another clue that someone has blocked you on LinkedIn is if a group you used to be in no longer appears for you. This could mean an admin blocked you.

How To Block Someone On LinkedIn App?

To block someone in the LinkedIn app or when using a mobile version, use the following steps:

  1. Find the profile you wish to block.
  2. From this profile, click the “more” button.
  3. Select “Report or block.”
  4. Click “block (member name)
  5. Click “submit.”

How To Block Someone On LinkedIn Company Page?

Unfortunately, you cannot simply block someone from viewing your company page as you can your personal page.

If you are experiencing abusive behavior from a user, you can report them to LinkedIn.

To find information about a specific situation, go to LinkedIn’s help page for reporting abusive content.

How To Unblock On LinkedIn?

To unblock someone on LinkedIn using your computer:

  1. From the LinkedIn homepage, select the “Me” icon at the top.
  2. Click “Settings & Privacy”
  3. Click the “Visibility” section
  4. Choose “Visibility of your LinkedIn activity.”
  5. Select “blocking,” then click “change.”
  6. There will be a list of blocked accounts. Find the person you are looking for and click “unblock.”

To unblock someone on LinkedIn using the mobile version:

  1. Click your profile picture.
  2. Click “Settings” in the right-hand corner.
  3. Under “visibility,” click “visibility of your LinkedIn activity.”
  4. You will then be presented with a list of blocked accounts.
  5. Find the person you are looking for and click “unblock.”
Can a person tell if you block them on LinkedIn?

When you block someone, and they attempt to go to your profile, and they can’t, they might easily assume that you blocked them. If they try to message you, a similar event might happen.
For those whom you share a recruiter account with, LinkedIn can notify them that you have blocked them.

If you want to block a member from a group you are a part of and also want to remove them from your group, they will likely know when they no longer have access to your group.

How do I block a specific person on LinkedIn?

Log in to LinkedIn. Go to the person’s profile who you’d like to block. Find the member’s profile picture.
Below the profile picture, you should see a “more button. Click this. A drop-down list will appear. Click “Report/Block.”

Once you see the “What do you want to do?” menu, click “block (member name).” From here, click “block.” If you have reconsidered, you can click “go back.”

When you block someone on LinkedIn What can they see?

When you block someone on LinkedIn, your profile will no longer appear to them. This includes LinkedIn suggestions. It will appear to the person you blocked as though you’re not even on LinkedIn.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *